Old 01-19-2014
Sergeant

Default ///////////////

////////////////////////////////

Last edited by EVERS; 05-19-2014 at 08:58 PM. Reason: spell
Old 01-20-2014
Administrator
General

Well, construction of a pontoon bridge would take several weeks, and since our turns are 1/2 days construction of said bridge would take most of the game. You have to remember that logistics wise moving stuff like pontoons around would take forever back then. Its not like they had cargo planes to drop supplies wherever they were needed. Not a bad idea, but doesnt quite fit the feel we're aiming for. Now a WWII game....

Jeff
Old 01-22-2014
Administrator
General

You're correct, Im not a C.W. expert and I don't claim to be Im a game designer. I wasn't saying that the bridges would take time to erect, I was trying to say that the logistics of getting the supplied needed would take a long time, but I must have done a poor job.

We do consult with several historians as needed during development. When possible I try and couch our game design decisions within the theme of the game (Im trying not to break your "Immersion" as a player) and that was what I was trying to do here. The underlying reason we chose not to allow bridge building was pretty simple. In our very early tests it unbalanced and broke the game. Choke points (like the bridges/fords in C63) are really important in game design for forcing conflict and when the engineer units were allowed to remove the need for control of the choke points, things got boring...

We may add the bridge building ability in other versions of our games, but for C63 it doesn't work.

Thanks for the suggestion evers, we really do appreciate it. Keep the suggestions coming. We love hearing what you guys want to see next.

Jeff
Old 02-04-2014
Administrator
General

Thats the bug we're working on right now. No ETA on a fix, as it looks like it may require a major re-write of one of the engine systems

Jeff
Old 05-20-2014
Recruit

Default on another note